Travel Review: Grand Turk, Halfmoon Cay and The Bahamas

DSCF1430

…if there is one thing I love to do, it would have to be traveling. No matter how broke I may be, I always try to put aside funds strictly for travel and you know, I would definitely recommend this to everyone. I remember a coworker of mine said to me that I must be rich and a big spender for all this travel I keep doing. You know what? You don’t have to be rich or be a big spender in order to enjoy yourself and travel. My husband and I are thrifty people with everything and travel is not an exception. We spend hours and even days hunting for the best deals around and trust me, we hate paying full price for a lot of things. So this year, we have so far travelled to Jamaica and the last trip was just this week and that was a cruise to Grand Turk, Halfmoon Cay and the Bahamas. I think I will write a separate blog on Jamaica and I will also do a separate post that incorporates a video from the cruise. But for now, here is my review on Grand Turk, Halfmoon Cay and The Bahamas

Grand Turk:

DSCF1288

 

Because we were on a cruise, we only spent about 5 or 6 hours in Grand Turk but it felt like a longtime. It’s crazy how many things you can try to accomplish when you know that your time is limited. Grand Turk is the capital of Turks and Caicos and we learned from our tour guide that the island (Grand Turk) is only 7 miles long and 1.5 miles wide with a population of approximately 5,000 people. We took a tour bus and toured the island stopping at several points of interest. It seemed to be one of those islands where everyone knows everyone. Their crime rate is extremely low, people are very friendly and boy, it is one expensive island! When we visited, gas was at $6.40 a gallon and the currency is 1 to 1 with the American dollar. We really enjoyed the few hours that we had to spend there though and I certainly would recommend it to others. I would love to return and tour each one of the turks and caicos islands. I believe there are about 40 islands, 8 of which are inhabited.

DSCF1326

 

 

Halfmoon Cay:

DSCF1354

 

 

Our next stop after Grand Turk was Halfmoon Cay which is a small private island that Carnival cruise ship makes a stop at. It is located in the bahamas and my goodness this place is beautiful! It has such amazing clear, turquoise water and very tranquil. We spent about 7 hours here but we only spent about 3 or 4 hours outside. It was way too hot to spend all day in the sun so we enjoyed swimming, had a bbq for lunch courtesy of the ship and then returned to the ship for some rest and more entertainment.

DSCF1393

 

Nassau, Bahamas:

This was our third time visiting Nassau, Bahamas and each time has been with a cruise. It would be interesting to actually fly there and spend a few days there because it’s a place I would love to explore a little more. We basically had about 7 or 8 hours to spend here and so hubby and I walked around downtown a little bit and I must say, Nassau is pretty developed. I was impressed. Then we took a cab to Atlantis which was about 10 minutes away and we paid $11 for 2 people which is not bad however if you take a little boat to atlantis, it’s $3 per person. On our last visit, we took the little boat to Atlantis but decided against it this time cause it can be questionable….

DSCF1466

 

After Atlantis, we took another cab ride to “Fish Fry”. Everyone we met recommended fish fry as a place to visit and eat some delicious local food so we decided to try it out. It’s basically by a beach and there you find a collection of small restaurants serving all types of delicious food. Hubby and I had their snapper fish and my gosh! It was very mouthwatering and they are very generous with their portions too!! We really enjoyed our time there. After the meal we decided to walk back to the ship instead of taking a cab and it was a good 15 to 20 minute walk. So as you can see, I did put it a little bit of a workout too while on vacation 😉

DSCF1472

 

So that’s my quick review/post on our 5 day cruise. It was the best time and I already can’t wait to go on my next vacation. Again, whenever you get paid, set aside a portion of your paycheck for travel if traveling is something that you love to do. Look around for deals, Groupon is one place to look just always read the fine print. The world has so much to offer so why not explore whenever you get the chance?

So, what is your dream vacation? Do share



Categories: Reviews, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave me some feedback :-)